May 19, 2024
Vinikilang Hayin Gada along, Mudi-Yola Road, jimeta, Adamawa State, Nigeria

Gombe State House of Assembly screens Commissioner nominees


Yakubu Halliru Jekadafari


Gombe State House of Assembly on Thursday commenced the screening of the seventeen commissioner nominees selected by the state government and sent to the legislative for scrutiny and confirmation.


Those screened on Thursday included Mijinyawa Ardo Tilde (Funakaye), Asma’u Iganus (Shongom), Barnabas Malle (Kaltungo), Col. Abdullahi Bello (Rtd) (Balanga), Ass. Prof. Aishatu Umar Maigari (Dukku), Abdulkadir Waziri (Akko) and Barr. Zubairu Muhammad Umar (Funakaye).


Though some of the nominees were asked to take a bow and go, others had to answer questions raised by the members.


In an interview with newsmen shortly after their screening, the commissioner hopeful expressed their gratitude to Governor Muhammadu Inuwa Yahaya for finding them worthy to serve as members of his cabinet, saying they will work diligently to deliver the dividend of democracy to the good people of the state.


The screening and the confirmation of the commissioner nominee embarked upon by the state House of Assembly, continued on Friday.


The screening exercise which is under the chairmanship of the deputy speaker of the house Saddam Bello Saleh, has screened, Malam Inuwa Adamu Pantami, from Gombe local government, Dr. Habu Dahiru from Yamaltu Deba local government and Dr. Usman Maijama’a from kwami local government.


Others are, Mohammad Shitima Gadam, Alhaji Salisu Baba Alkali as well and Mohammad Gambo Magaji.


Meanwhile, the screening exercise continued With Sunusi Ahmad Pindiga from the Akko local government area, which brought the number of the screened nominees to sixteen out of the already selected Seventeen.


The house therefore adjourned to Thursday the 12th of September where One remaining commissioner nominee, Abdullahi Bappa Garkiwa from Gombe local government will be screened.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *